Awe

image

I wrote this piece a few years ago; I can’t believe that I forgot about this night. I’m so glad I found this – I truly needed the reminder.

Breathless, fighting fatigue I bitterly trudge up the seeming never-ending dune. Why am I here? It seems like such a miniscule question in regards to the way I originally thought of the answer – that is until the sight before me becomes clear.

All thoughts of mindless entertainment to dull my senses were banished as I stared, completely awe-struck. The midnight sky littered with stars; some bright as silver flame, others faintly twinkling in the soft black blanket above me. Sand – which had been such a bothersome annoyance before – stretched out before me as far as my eyes could see to the left and to the right. In front of me, as endless looking as the night sky, was the roaring power that is the ocean. Even in the midnight hour I could still see the rolling white caps of waves crashing upon the shore.

The possibilities of “Why am I here?” became so broad that I just dropped my useless wonderings all together. After all, here I am such an insignificant – and now humbled – being in the middle of such beauty and power it was unsettling; yet at the same time empowering.

No matter what I’m dealing with; no matter if the world as I know it changes once again; no matter who feels what for me – even if it’s nothing at all – there is hope.

If my problems, irritations, limitations, and expectations can come storming onto a mere beach in the middle of the night to just (begrudgingly) take the dog out for a walk, and become humbled by God Almighty’s creation…well then, nothing else matters does it?

As I stood in the middle of the beach holding my dog, Finnegan’s leash, all I could do is look around in total awe. All at once millions of stars were in place, the ocean steady ebbing and flowing, and tiny crabs making there way around me and Finnegan to do what they had to do – the surely God has everything else in control.

He’s got this.

I don’t have to.

I’m not Superwoman, Batwoman, Spiderwoman, X-Woman – or whatever superhero knock-off you can think of.

I am simply Kristin…a daughter of the King; and as one of his princess’ I have the honor of the certainty that everything will work out for the good.

It is in that I rest tonight…and every night hereafter.

Until the next page…

Leave a comment